top of page
  • Kate

Meal prep

Although it may not seem like it from the food recently, we are continuing with our usual low calorie routine which is always made easier when you can make vibrant and interesting healthy lunches.


I have been working from home since Feb 2020, Pips has been back in the office a while now, so lunch and weekday routines haven’t really changed much for us. That being said, with Covid and being in an office, Pippa was keen to avoid using the common areas too much, such as the microwave, so that gave me a chance to be inventive with cold lunches, after all, there are only so many ways you can make a sandwich exciting.


Then a good friend of mine for me a stick blender for my birthday, and boy did it open up new avenues of sauces! This is a personal favourite, mostly because it looks fancy, but is so easy!


Firstly I get a decent chunk of salmon, at least half a kilo, season it and oven roast it (with foil on) for 20 mins. Then let it cool. Then the sauce, I take a bag of watercress, some dill, juice and zest of a lemon, salt, pepper and something creamy. Now I usually use Quark or yoghurt, a) health and calories but b) they both add a nice tang that goes well with the lemon. You can use something like crème fraiche though. Start with around 100g and get the blender involved. Then I add olive oil as I blend it to get the consistency a little more dressing like. Taste as you go, sometimes I need more lemon, sometimes a bit more creaminess, play around, you can’t really go wrong.


Then I line up bowls, dish up the juicy salmon alongside boiled new potatoes., an adornment of green veg I have either in the fridge or the freezer (the one below was frozen green beans, edamame beans and cavolo nero) and drench it with the vibrant green sauce. Yum!




6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page