top of page
  • Kate

New Years

Hello food fans, it has been a while I know. Me and Pippa had a VERY busy 2020 by all accounts but panic not, I have continued to cook and experiment even more than before with the luxury of time Lockdown gave us. So welcome to a series I lovingly call ‘Lockdown Adventures’. Of course, it being me, they mostly involve savoury dinners, although spoiler alert, there are a few sweet treats. Yes, things got that desperate.


So where to kick things off?! I’ll be honest, I have actually really enjoyed having the time (and money without pubs being a weird form of black hole for disposable income) to have a bit more of a play in the kitchen and hone my skills, so it’s hard to pick ‘the opener’.


After a long debate (with myself as honestly, who else cares), I decided New Year’s Day made sense. New Year’s Day was actually the first day me and Pippa were alone at home since getting married as we had her folks staying with us. As we also spent our ‘honeymoon’ in lockdown, there was only one recipe for it. A proper beef wellington ala Gordon Ramsey (we watch a lot of Hell’s Kitchen USA ha).


This is one of Pippa’s ultimate dream meals, I mean I think it is for most people to be fair, but it is quite a work up so perfect when you have the entire day to prep and make it. What we enjoyed about Gordons recipe is there is no pancake which I always find a bit stodgy, he uses Parma ham and it really seasons the beef beautifully. I can’t take much credit for this as for once, I followed his recipe to a tee, even wrapping the beef as tight as I can in a football fields length of Clingfilm, but as the picture below illustrates, it was a roaring success and did the pricey beef fillet absolute justice.





7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page