top of page

My slight NFL obsession

This is my first ode to sport blog, I am sure that I am going to end up writing quite a few more... Something that my partner found out about me when we first got together is that I love sport, mostly cricket & NFL, but also rugby, I dabble in Basketball, Ice Hockey, obviously most Summer Olympic sports and the odd Winter Olympic sport. This excludes all the things I end up watching cause I suddenly "get into it.


I think the NFL caught her off-guard because it is not played in South Africa - so why would I care about it... why indeed? I do not have the answer to that one, but thanks to the help of my friend Joe and his fantastic idea for us (him, his partner Briony, Kate and myself) to be involved in a fantasy league, both of our partners are not much more into it. We all watch it on a Sunday evening - Redzone and follow our teams - with me following the Steelers even more closely.

They are my team and have been since I was about 12. Now the weird thing is this... I have no idea why I picked them or at the very least I can't really remember why I did... considering that I have never even been to the States (as of December 2020), however, it has made me want to go and visit the city of Pittsburgh so that I can go to Heinz stadium and if I am lucky, see a game!


If you are wanting to get into NFL - or wanting your partner to get into it - I can highly recommend playing fantasy league and spreading your players around, so you end up watching more games...


We use NFL Fantasy, but I know there are many others that you can use.


9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page