top of page

South Africa's T20 Campaign


T20 world cup is happening and soon! I thought why not write something about the sport I love more than almost anything… I am definitely not going to rank things here… danger zone.


So I have and always will support South Africa, which hurts me, I love them… but they like to get my hopes up and then dash them to the floor.


In breaking down the squad selection, I am mostly happy, there are a few choices that I really hope pay off for us/the guys selected really need to prove their worth. There are also a few names that in my opinion are missing, Faf and Tahir as the most obvious and ABD as another... I know that technically Faf and AB retired from SA cricket, but FAF had said he would come back and Tahir had not retired and had - what I thought - was a great "Hundred" tournament, taking the first hattrick.


Squad aside, I am not that upset about the matches we are playing:


23 Oct – v AUS

26 Oct – v WI

30 Oct – v A1 (this could be Ireland or Sri Lanka)

2 Nov – v B2 (This is possibly going to be Scotland)

6 Nov – v ENG


I am obviously nervous about playing all of these teams, you can never sleep on WI, Australia has talent coming from all angles and England are obviously fantastic. I think that all these teams underestimate SA and that is the only thing that would be their downfall.


I am happy that we are not in the group with Pakistan, India and New Zealand... NZ are the team that we always seem to lose to in World cups... No thanks.


However... as nervous as I am... I am excited! COME ON BOYS!

33 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page