top of page

Days Gone Game Review

I am still in the middle of this game to be fair, as of the 10th of December, I am getting through it pretty quickly, but that is because I do have a time limit with this game. It is currently on PS Now and it will be coming off on the 4th of January and I will be fuming if I do not finish it before it goes off… So much so that I have put my Assassin’s Creed Valhalla on the backburner to finish it. THEN I will have to smash through that so that I can play Cyberpunk 2077… *Sigh* so is the tough life of a gamer.


So this game took me a while to get into it, scary? Yes. More like jump frights in the beginning mostly because you are seriously weak and it is hard to beat down on zombies (or Freaks, as they call them in this game… seriously hardly any game or movie call them zombies…). Once I started playing this game more and getting more XP points, I really started loving it.


You play Deacon St. John (great surname) a former U.S. Army War vet biker-turned-drifter and bounty hunter who, for some reason, does not like being part of a camp, but rather live away from them… this is one point that confused me a little in the beginning when you start playing… why would you want to live away from safety and be on your own where you have to protect yourself? Well… some of the camp “leaders” are crazier than a bag of cats, which is only something you find out later in the game, nice people and well-meaning, but for example, the one camp is more of a work camp, another is run by a guy who is just a little intense about the government and conspiracies. So as Deek your main mode of transportation is your motorbike, a big old, very loud beast. Trust me when I say that one thing you want to do pretty quickly is upgrade it, fuel, engine capacity, saddlebags for ammo… all the delicious things.


There are a few things that I can say that I LOVE about this game:


  1. The dynamic weather and how it changes the game when you are playing it. Snow falls and lands on you and fallen enemies.

  2. The music score.

  3. The visuals.

  4. The way that zombies will attack each other or chase after an enemy etc - feels very real.

  5. Hordes.


Let me expand on the Hordes in the game as they are a big thing and if you are not ready… you are going to want to cry haha. So imagine… a ton of zombies that wander around together and sleep in the same area. The fun thing about hordes is that you can plan your attack, set traps, find a route where there are maybe some fuel tanks etc. The scary part, well, in the beginning, you do not have a lot of focus (the ability to slow time and shoot) or stamina, or ammo capacity/a good gun; but that is what makes it so much fun. My partner knows I am about to go take on a horde cause I sit forward on the couch.


I can highly recommend this game!


So this game gets: 8.9/10





10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page