top of page

Has the world outgrown linear games?

Now before I go too deep into this, I want to make it clear that in no way do I dislike linear games, some of my favourite games are linear. Linear games in my opinion are those that make you go in a specific direction and limit your exploration to some extent, games such as Tomb Raider, Uncharted and The Last of Us 1 & 2 (a lesser extent with 2, but it was still linear making you go in a specific direction). Open world games, you can go where you want and do what you want in what order you want, games such as Witcher 3 and the Assassins Creed (later) franchise.


I wonder if the world is moving on from the traditional linear game? Games these days are getting very expensive with the newer generation consoles, so a lot more people are expecting more bang for their buck, so using some examples from earlier:


Linear

Open World

Game

Main story hours

Game

Main story hours

Tomb Raider (2013)

11.5

Witcher 3

51

Ride of the Tomb Raider

13.5

RDR 2

50

Shadow of the Tomb Raider

12.5

GTA 5

31.5

Uncharted: Drake’s Fortune

8

Skyrim

34

Uncharted 2: Among Thieves

10.5

Metal Gear Solid 5

45.5

Uncharted 3: Drake’s Deception

9

Fallout 4

27

Uncharted 4: A Thief’s End

15

Horizon Zero Dawn

30

The Last of Us

15.5

Assassins Creed: Origins

30

The Last of Us 2

24

Assassins Creed: Odyssey


44.5

Granted that some of these games are old. Still, you can see the pattern some, I wonder how long the linear format will continue when these big companies make bigger and bigger maps. I think the indie developers may stick to the linear as they can focus on story and graphics, a fantastic example I am playing at the moment and will be writing a review on at some point is “Stray” that game is magnificent and you get to play a cat… Thank. You!


Just so that no one thinks I am only an open-world fan, here are some other spectacular linear games that I highly recommend: The Wolf Among us, Hellblade: Senua's Sacrifice, Bioshock, Ryse: Son of Rome, Detroit become human, Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order, Halo and (last one I promise), MASS EFFECT


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page